The Franklin United Church has a unique heritage grounded in both the Congregational and Methodist traditions.
The Franklin Congregational Church was organized in 1817 with 14 charter members. For the first 10 years the church met for worship in the Franklin School House until the Meeting House was constructed in 1827, dedicated in 1829, and the Rev. Benjamin Wooster preached the first sermon. The Meeting House was owned by four denominations, but after a number of years the Baptists and Universalists ceased to use it and the Congregationalists and Methodists shared it equally. Finally in 1856, the Congregational Society purchased the shares of the other pew owners and came to have sole ownership of the building.
Following the spread of Methodism across northern Vermont in the early 1800’s, the Franklin Methodist Episcopal Society was formed in 1822. The church met in the Franklin Meeting House until they built their own building in 1844. In 1864 that building was torn down and was replaced by the current building which was built in 1866.
Seeking to be a unified church of Jesus Christ, the Congregational and Methodist bodies federated in 1921 and united in 1986, forming the Franklin United Church. Although both buildings are used all year around for ministry today, we continue to uphold the tradition from 1921 of worshipping in the Congregational Building in the summertime and worshipping in the Methodist building throughout the winter.
Dual membership is now held with the Conservative Congregational Christian Conference and the United Methodist Church.